MIROIR DE Line VAUTRIN (1903-1997)

Lot 83
Got to lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 36 250EUR
MIROIR DE Line VAUTRIN (1903-1997)

VERY NICE SMALL MIRROR "MODEL GERBERA" IN THE SHAPE OF RAYING SUN OF Line VAUTRIN (1913-1997)



Talosel inlaid with iridescent pieces of glass and garnet colour. Signed on the back



Circa 1960



Diam : 29 cm



Condition of use and maintenance





Line Vautrin, born April 28, 1913 in Paris where she died April 12, 1997, is a French artist, designer, creator of jewelry and decorative objects. Throughout her life, she refused to submit her inspiration to the demands of contemporary fashion and made thousands of objects, including "witches", convex circular mirrors, often decorated with "talosel".



She is interested in a new substance: cellulose acetate, from which she has developed a new material called "talosel". She shapes, cuts and heats this new material to create decorative items that have enabled her to optimize the use of this material. She creates objects of all kinds including lamp bases, screens, tables and especially her famous mirrors: witch mirrors, convex mirrors, deforming mirrors.



In 1986-1987, she put on sale part of her collection, bought in particular by the British gallery owner David Gill.



In 1992, she was awarded the National Prize for Craftsmanship for her research on decoration techniques. She died suddenly of a heart attack on April 12, 1997, two years before her retrospective at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris.



Her collections regained popularity and were subsequently presented in galleries such as Naïla de Monbrisson's in Paris or, in 2013, the Maison Gérard in New York.



In May 2015, his daughter, Marie-Laure Bonnard, put her personal collection on sale.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

MIROIR DE Line VAUTRIN (1903-1997)

Lot 83
Aller au lot
Estimation :
15000 - 20000 EUR
Résultats avec frais
Résultat : 36 250EUR
MIROIR DE Line VAUTRIN (1903-1997)

TRES JOLI PETIT MIROIR SORCIERE "MODELE GERBERA" EN FORME DE SOLEIL RAYONNANT DE Line VAUTRIN (1913-1997)


Talosel incrusté de morceaux de verre irisés et couleur grenat. Signé au dos


Circa 1960


Diam : 29 cm


Etat d'usage et d'entretien



Line Vautrin, née le 28 avril 1913 à Paris où elle meurt le 12 avril 1997, est une artiste française, designer, créatrice de bijoux et d'objets de décoration. Tout au long de sa vie, elle refuse de soumettre son inspiration aux exigences de la mode contemporaine et fabrique des milliers d'objets, dont les « sorcières », miroirs circulaires convexes, au pourtour souvent décoré au moyen de « talosel ».


Elle s’intéresse à une nouvelle substance : l’acétate de cellulose, dont elle tire un nouveau matériau baptisé « talosel ». Elle façonne, taille, chauffe cette nouvelle matière pour créer des articles de décoration qui lui ont permis d’optimiser l’utilisation de cette matière. Elle crée des objets de toutes sortes dont des culots de lampes, des paravents, des tables et surtout ses célèbres miroirs : miroirs sorcière, miroirs convexes, miroirs déformants.


En 1986-1987, elle met en vente une partie de sa collection, achetée notamment par le galeriste britannique David Gill.


En 1992, elle reçoit le Prix national des Métiers d’Art pour ses recherches sur les techniques de décoration. Elle meurt brutalement d’un arrêt cardiaque le 12 avril 1997, deux ans avant sa rétrospective au musée des arts décoratifs de Paris.


Regain de popularité, ses collections sont par la suite présentées dans des galeries, comme celle de Naïla de Monbrisson à Paris ou, en 2013, la Maison Gérard à New York.


En mai 2015, sa fille Marie-Laure Bonnard, met en vente sa collection personnelle.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue